Japshow @ Santa Pod 2009


***Please note that TweakCulture has moved! Please click here to view this post on the new server***

Yesterday was an early start for me, but it turned out to be well worth getting up early for. I was planning to meet up with the guys from Honda Culture but actually arrived at the meeting point about 30 mins before they were due to arrive. Normally this half hour period would be a great chance to grab some much needed sleep, but on this occaision I actually ended up meeting up with a few of the guys from CivicJordan.co.uk who had also arranged the same meeting point. Within an hour about 30 Jordans had arrived along with about 35 cars that were due to be on the HC stand. Not a bad start to the day! Seeing such a gathering of Jordans was a true joy to behold as it is rare to see so many together.

On arrival at Santa Pod, I was expecting there to be a huge queue to sit in but I was pleasantly surprised at being able to stream through and straight to the Honda  Culture stand. As soon as I took my 1st stroll around the show with Lex from AceImageUK it was clear to us that this was going to be a good day.

I was truely impressed with a number of cars at the Japshow this year, and even being as unbiased as possible 2 of the best cars at the show for me were on the Honda Culture stand – namely Tegboys EK9 and Sundip’s VIP Accord. If you havent checked out Tegboy’s EK9 build up then you seriously need to do that right now, because for me (and many others) it is the best EK9 (and possibly best Civic in general) in the UK right now. More pics of Sundip’s slammed Accord will be posted on here shortly.

I was pleased to see the drift action pulling such a huge crowd, but would like them to put on a better track for the skidders next time. One of the best and most unique things about Japshow is the quarter mile action, and yesterday I was loving the mix of competitive runners, RWYB and Jet car runs. I will post my drag action shots in a different post later this week.

Thats it for part 1, but in part two I will be taking a closer look at the Quarter mile action as well as the other (non Honda) cars at Japshow.

If you would like to see the rest of the 1st batch of photos from Japshow then you can do just that by clicking this link – Japshow @ Santa Pod photos.

Leave a comment